The Gallery: Motherhood

I missed The Gallery last week, whilst Tara was on holiday. And I wasn’t going to have access to the internet this coming week, so I thought I’d have to sit it out again.

But how could I pass up on the topic of “motherhood”? It’s what has brought me to blogging, what has redefined who I am and made me question my life priorities.

To sum this all up in a photo though? Impossible, I thought. Particularly as I would only have 24 hours in which to do so.

I scanned through the hundreds of photos I’ve taken since Moo was born 18 months ago. I looked at scans, pictures of pregnancy tests, photos of a newborn, photos of a very tired new mum, and photos of a blossoming toddler. I can’t picture motherhood – I haven’t experienced the half of it yet. 18 months is no time at all. Moo will show me all of what is to come.

But then my eye was caught by this photo.

It seemed to sum up so much to me. The reliance of a child on her mother, the trust, the bond. Also the love-driven obsession of a mother with her child, recording every last detail of this precious creature. Moo will rely on me less and less as years go by, but that trust, that bond? I hope that remains. And that love, that obsession? I can’t see that diminishing anytime soon.

And I know that to be true. Because I have the evidence in front of me. This is also motherhood. The link between my mother and my daughter. The unending love my mother has for Moo, and vice versa.

I can only hope that my journey in motherhood will bring me such joy, so many years down the line.

It’s certainly off to a good start.

**************************************************

This was a post in response to Tara’s brilliant Gallery, with this week’s prompt of “motherhood”.  Once the McLinky is up, I’ll add a link so you can visit the other entries from around the Internets.

28 responses to “The Gallery: Motherhood

  1. Aww I am so emmotional just now and that is such a sweet post. You are an amazing, proud mother. You have potrayed what motherhood means to you. Excellent xx

  2. Gorgeous. Captures that amazing bond.
    Http.marketingtomilk.Wordpress.com

  3. That is such a lovely choice of photo. I think that is going to be the problem this week, choosing a photo. Lovely words too. I think this weeks gallery is going to have me blubbing.

  4. Lovely. Just lovely. I think every parent will look at that and have their heart melt just a little bit x

  5. Yup, melty heart here. Beautiful photo and excellent post.

  6. This is beautiful – and heartbreaking for those of us who didn’t get to share our children with our mum.

    Was thinking today that the happiest time in my life was the summer I spent pushing my new son aimless around in his new pushchair in that fugue of new motherhood. He’s 8 now and now I shall utter the mothers’ universal cry – where did the time go?

    • I am so sorry – yes, that must be heartbreaking. I definitely feel that becoming a mother myself has given me new insight into my own mum.

      Moo is only 18 months, and still I’m ready to declare she’s not allowed to grow up any more! And yet, that growing up is something I so look forward to too.

      Thanks for your visit and your comment.

  7. awww that’s fantastic. Really excellent photo and it definitely defines motherhood. beautiful.

  8. Reading your post, I’m wondering why I didn’t take the tiny hand in my hand photograph, and regretting it slightly. It’s beautiful. Motherhood is ace isn’t it?

  9. tiddlyompompom

    beautiful photos :)

  10. Beautiful photos. Love the tiny hand – still all chubby and wrinkly.

  11. I love the photo of the hand & finger…so sweet!

  12. That is just lovely the chubby hand oh makes me go all arhh x

  13. Such lovely pictures that show Motherhood so well!

  14. Wow, that’s such a cute photo ;)

  15. This has been my fave prompt so far. I think it’s done loads to show what a supportive community we are and how much motherhood means to us. Your photos are just gorgeous and Moo is so beautiful! Lovely post. Px

  16. Thanks for telling us your motherhood story. The photo of Moo’s tiny hand is just amazing, worth millions.

  17. Gorgeous photo! I have a few photos like this – feet ones too and they are so cherished!

  18. Hi,
    Sian – MummyTips / CyberMummy Here…… I’ve just posted with the info you need in order to get your pic printed for the real life CyberMummy Gallery exhibition courtesy of Photobox.

    http://www.mummy-tips.com/2010/06/cybermummy-gallery-get-your-pics-in.html

    Do add htp://www.Mummy-tips to your blogroll if you like what you read…

  19. whatdidyoudotodaymama

    Gorgeous pics and such a lovely post. Think you’re right about the love obsession and the detail photos, have many shots of tiny hands and feet. It’s so wonderful seeing the love between your mother and your child isn’t it.

  20. Gorgeous! That little hand is just too adorable. And how WONDERFUL to add your mother to the post – you are quite right, her love towards your daughter is an extension of her motherhood towards you. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

