What do I look like…?

Sleep is for the Weak Writing Workshop

Really?

You want to know?

Right now, I’m tired. It’s late evening, and I’m still in my work clothes.  I have my corporate uniform of grey fitted dress, and a grey cardigan, with sheer tights and today, as a special treat, I’m even wearing jewellery.  Granted, the patent mary-jane heels I was wearing earlier have been abandoned in favour of some comfy slippers, but other than that I look like I did at work.

The clothes haven’t changed since before I had Moo.  They are a couple of sizes bigger I will admit, but they are the same style.

It’s the rest of it that has changed.

My face is make-up free.

My hair hasn’t been cut in at least 10 months, and is pulled into a pony tail at the back of my head.

My nails, previously the beneficiaries of the amazing Nails Inc everlasting polish (oh, how I loved that!) are broken and uneven.

I don’t have time to do hair and make-up.  My mornings are filled with cuddles and milk and playing, and fighting over putting hair in bunches…

My hands are in and out of baths, and washing, and washing up, handling dirty nappies, squished food and wiping snotty noses.

How I look right now pretty much sums up my life at the moment.  It’s about compromise. It’s about fitting in as well as I can at work, whilst giving as much of my time as I can to Moo.

It’s about trying not to lose the “me” that can get caught up in the “mummy”.

It’s about trying to regain the confidence in myself, so that I can be a good example to Moo.

Compromise. It’s a tough word.

This is a (late) response to the Writing Workshop over at Sleep is for the Weak.  I decided to write on prompt #1:

1. Write an honest description of what you look like right now.
– Inspired by Nickie at Typecast whose post made me smile.


7 responses to “What do I look like…?

  1. Almost a photocopy of what I look like! 🙂

  2. You described me too, but I’m in yoga pants. 🙂

  3. Doesn’t sound much different from me (although never had done nails … keyboards and stress chewing precluded that)

    One of my jobs for this year is to sort out and reinvigorate my wardrobe so I feel less frumpy

  4. Thanks for posting this – I see all the ‘yummy mummies’ at school, and I honestly don’t know how they have the time. Then I remember…they have rich husbands, and cleaners, and nannies…!

Leave a Reply

