The Gallery: Outside, or rather inside, my front door

Tara has again challenged us to post our weekly photo, and this time the prompt was “Outside my front door”.

Unfortunately, my problem this week is that I have spent too much time outside of that front door, and not enough time thinking of photos! Tara wanted to know where we were, what our surroundings were like, but as my photo doesn’t quite capture that, I’ll describe it for you.

I live in a large town on the outskirts of a large city. My little part of the town is a bit like toy town – lots of little box-like houses standing in their little squares of garden, keeping themselves to themselves. It’s suburbia, but it’s green, and it’s safe and it’s close to escape routes, including my personal favourite the motorway which can take me miles away in no time at all…

Right outside our front door, which you can see in the picture, is not pretty. If I’m honest, we’re letting the neighbourhood down, and the lawn hasn’t been mowed since last summer.

But Moo loves it. If she hears the slightest noise that suggests to her that the front door is open, she’s on her way. She will spend, if permitted, hours just sitting on the door mat, shouting “hiya” at any passers-by or magpies which deign to visit her lawn. She declares a heartfelt “oof oof” if someone walks past with a dog. She resolutely drops anything she can off the doorstep, and looks down at it, forlornly, with a distraught “uh oh…*.

So, whilst two-a-penny to others who may see it, outside my front door is special to me because of the little one who loves to sit inside my front door, watching the world go by.

(and who can resist those little toes…)

Please visit sticky fingers on Wednesday to see everyone else’s entry!

34 responses to “The Gallery: Outside, or rather inside, my front door

  1. cute toes 🙂

  2. Loving the bright apple dress too which just pops out! A great entry: ‘outside my front door by a toddler’!

  3. I LOVE this photo. She is such a little poppet. Gorgeous.

    x

  4. Oh, gorgeous!
    Hope you don’t mind me asking, but where did you get those PJs from? A friend of ours has a little girl who’d love them. 🙂

  5. That is such a wonderful story, and she does have the cutest toes!

  6. The feet…that’s what truly captures this one! Absolutely gorgeous! 😉

    A great view…of the most important thing after all!

    Karin

  7. Aw …. such a great post!
    And Milly is exactly the same, always wants to go “outside” the front door!xx

    • Bizarrely moo has not, as yet, tried to climb off the step, and has been content to watch, and to throw things out!

      She’s a little bit cautious until she knows exactly what her plan is. I expect it any time soon…

  8. Aww such a gorgeous photo and story. It is funny how they are fascinated by the things we take for granteed. xx

  9. So cute. Makes me feel clucky really. Ssh don’t tell hubby!

  10. This is a beautiful photo, I could just nibble those little toes, so cute.

  11. Aw! toes… cuteness 🙂

  12. Oh shes gorgeous and I love what you’ve written about her! sounds like shes going to be adventureous!

  13. Awww, how cute! I love this picture x

  14. Lovely photo – I love what you’ve done with the colours

  15. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Great picture, love how you’ve kept the colour of her clothes and the rest is black and white. x

  16. Awww, I bet that keeps her amused for hours. :0)

  17. aaawwwww 😀

    My granddaughter sits on the windowsill at home and watches the world go by 🙂

Leave a Reply

