The Gallery: Joy – yes really, bear with me here…

My photo for this week’s Gallery entry – Joy – may not seem obvious to all, but, as I say, please bear with me.

I could very happily post a gorgeous photo of Moo, with her daddy throwing her through the air, and the biggest grin on her face.

Or of me staring into her newborn face, struck with the joy of it all.

Or of my gorgeous nieces and nephew who just fill me with joy every time I see them.

But I’m sure there was a suggestion, at least on twitter, that smiling children were a no go. And anyway, that all goes without saying.

But other things fill me with joy too…

This is the first Google Production Server, from back in the old days of 1999. I photographed it at the Computer History Museum in California, just down the road from the Googleplex itself.

So, why oh why does it represent joy, I hear you asking? So many reasons…

1. The simple one. I’m a geek. We went to the Computer History Museum not expecting to spend long there – fill an hour before lunch perhaps. 4 hours later they were kicking us out because they were closing. It was fascinating! Everything from Charles Babbage to the first Apple, Zx81s and Air Defence Systems from the Cold War. There was so much to see, and the staff were so knowledgeable. If you are a geek, and visiting California, take a look – but allow more time than you might otherwise think…

2. It’s a Google production server! Google makes me joyous. It makes the whole world simpler. And OK, so I’m a little scared they are getting too big to really “do no evil” but I have a very soft spot for them. And the googleplex is amazing…

3. It reminds me of my time in California. I LOVE California. In particular, I love the fact that it’s OK out there to be enthusiastic. To love things. To be interested, to want to know more. There is no need to by cynical, or fashionably detached. They are optimistic. The American Dream really is available for all to strive towards. I’m not suggesting it’s utopia. I know it has the same problems every where else does. But I just felt that when I was there, it was ok to be me. It was ok to be whoever you wanted to be. It’s ok to feel joy, and to express it. Even if the thing you are joyous about is a production server…

But that might all be because:

4. It reminds me of my sister. The reason I spend any time in California is because my big sister lives there. She left to go to the US when I was 18, and it’s a good job my other sister and I keep doing things like getting married and having babies, as those are really the only reasons she’s been back since!

We didn’t know each other well when she left. But as I grew up, went to University, got a job, discovered the Internet, we got to know each other better. And whilst she’s on the other side of the world, she’s also just there in the top right hand corner of my computer screen, hovering in the Instant Messaging box. We share some similar traits – a love of writing, technical rather than creative, a love of learning, a love of strange and interesting facts. We’re interested. And I don’t have many people here that I can share that side of me with. Big sis surrounds herself with similar people over in the US, and every time the Hubbie and I visit, we feel right at home. Ourselves. And that certainly makes me feel joy.

This was a post in response to Tara’s brilliant Gallery, with this week’s prompt of “Joy”.  Please click over here to see the other entries from around the Internets.

Postscript:

*ahem* this big sis is the only real life person I’ve mentioned the blog to. So, big sis, I promise I’ve not just said nice things because you might read them. I would have written them anyway. And I mean them!

27 responses to “The Gallery: Joy – yes really, bear with me here…

  1. What an amazing story. And I so want to go there, you know me total computer geek too 🙂 Plus my fave aunt lives in CA, just not managed it yet. One day x

  2. Great take on the theme. I’m obviously a complete nerd too because I completely ‘get it’. I always loved the server room when I worked in offices!

    I don’t know how but, apart from Florida, I’ve never travelled in North America and there is SO much I’d love to see. I love the whole Generation X culture and ethos of California….one day….

    Great post x

    • Glad to hear I am not alone 😉 I didn’t expect to like the states as much as I do, although there are still some things I would gladly forego. But the “have a nice day” thing? It really works over there – they mean it!

      Because of big sis being in California, I have to confess if I’m going to make the transatlantic flight, I’d like to go see her, so I think our trips to other parts of the US will be limited. Although we did spend our honeymoon in Canada, and took a trip to Vegas one time we were in CA.

  3. The sign of an uber geek!

  4. That’s a brilliant take on the theme! Great picture, love the stories behind it… 🙂
    xx

  5. That is so brilliant that you chose that picture! Unique my friend x

  6. Awww you’re a fabulous geek, and those reasons for joy are brilliant. Your sister sounds lovely. I feel the same about 2 of my best mates who live in NZ. They’re far away but the internet makes them seem so much closer. x

    • Thank you! She is, very lovely. And reading, so, you know, I have to say that 😉

      The internet is a wonderful thing. Don’t know what I ever did without it!

  7. Awww, you’ve got me teary-eyed here (and then laughing at your post script 🙂 The spare room is ready for you any time 🙂

    • We’ll be there before you know it! Next year, next year…

      And then what will happen to your lovely home when a toddler Moo rampages through it… All those cables…

  8. I love that picture! And I love that you get excited about a piece of machinery in a museum! It does make a difference from smiling children, as lovely as they are!

  9. I love it when people’s Gallery interpretations are a bit different.

    Great story (from a fellow geek who appreciates this kind of thing…)

    🙂

    • Thanks Josie! This is the problem you have when you’re rubbish at responding early, so are the 90th person to post a gallery post – you’ve got to think of something a little different, as otherwise I’d just find myself being too influenced by the other brilliant entries (yours included).

  10. I ❤ Google too!! My whole life is powered by Google and it's complementary tools 🙂

  11. Yup, you’re a geek !

    Great interpretation

  12. That is brilliant – I love this photo! Geeky joy emanating your way, from me x

  13. What an awesome joy picture lol!!

    I’m a fellow nerd/geek person too!

    Addicted to the net since I was 15 back in 1997!

  14. Babies a no – go? What kind of sick, twisted world do you live in? Lol – just kidding. Love your picture and your reasons!

  15. oops, meant to say – that’s a REALLY creative interpretation!

Leave a Reply

