Baby Baby

No, I’m not bigging up one of the lovely MADs blogger finalists, although Sandy is a treasure! It’s more of a reflection of the evening I’ve just had.

My sister-in-law and her husband have come to stay. She’s 17 weeks pregnant, and all I can think about or talk about is babies! All she is hearing is my snippets of advice about what I would have done differently, what she should or shouldn’t buy, and what we can provide by the way of hand-me-downs.

But there is a part of me that is conscious that at 17 weeks, I was still pretty nervous, still superstitious about making too many plans. I really need to remember that she is likely to feel that way too, although the excitement with which she was listening to my ramblings was tangible…

Anyway, they are here for a reason. Those very kind folks at the Baby Show, taking place this weekend at the NEC, have given us some tickets to attend. My SIL and her very enthusiastic husband can’t wait – wish Hubbie had been quite so keen to do these kinds of things when we were expecting Moo! I’ve never been to a Baby Show before, so I’m not entirely sure what to expect, but there are plenty of exhibitors there we’re already making a beeline for.

The first is Bras4Mums – who come hightly recommended by my twitter friend @Cheshire_Claire, amongst others! Both SIL and I will hopefully be able to squeeze in a fitting – they have 3 fitting rooms open all weekend, and I hear that their bras can make every day a Good Boob Day!

Next, she wants to check out travel systems, and I think that the Baby Show will be a good opportunity to get hands on experience of them. Personally I’m a Bugaboo Bee girl, but maybe she’ll go for an Explory, or a Maclaren, or decide that she doesn’t need a fancy pram as she’s going to be babywearing.

She definitely wants to look at nappies too – what’s the current word on the environmental impact of reusables, or eco-friendly disposables? Hopefully tomorrow will help us find out.

And I’m wondering if any of the exhibitors will have baby shoes in a size 2.5 which aren’t pink…

Although the box office for the show is now closed, you can still get tickets on the door from £18, with children under 10 going free. It looks like a really good show, and I’m really looking forward to my first visit, even though my baby is rapidly turning into a toddler. If you can’t make it this weekend, the Baby Show will be back in October at Earls Court.

(Oh, and if any of you are planning on being around the Baby Show on Sunday, there are a whole bunch of twitterers meeting up – tweet me or Emma who has been rounding us all up, and one of us will let you know the details when we do!)

3 responses to “Baby Baby

  1. I hope you’re having a fab time at the baby show. Thanks for the lovely mention 🙂

  2. I was really impressed by how many cloth nappy companies and babywearing companies there were represented, and equally happy that Kinder by Nature – Jackson Reece herbal wipes were there too!

    Was great seeing you again 🙂

    P.S. If your sister in law has any questions about cloth or babywearing, feel free to get her to give me a call!

  3. It was good of you to come by the stand, even if you didn’t introduce yourself! I’m pleased your SIL was pleased with her fitting, and disappointed that you didn’t ‘shout’ and get one as well. You don’t have to be pregnant or breastfeeding to wear fabulous soft cup bras! Hope you’re all having a Good Boob Day – remember that should be everyday. If it’s not, contact me at bras4mums.co.uk for more advice

Leave a Reply

